Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

So many times throughout my life I’ve heard “I want to be successful.” Well, my question then is…what is “successful”?

Some people find success to be rich or wealthy, but they feel that they haven’t reached success because they aren’t rich yet. Some people define success as owning a business or achieving multiple titles on their jobs.

According to dictionary.com success is defined as:

  1. The favorable or prosperous termination of attempts or endeavors; the accomplishment of one’s goals.
  2. The attainment of wealth, position, honors, or the like.
  3. A performance or achievement that is marked by success, as by the attainment of honors.

So then it leads me to believe, success is…well anything you call it. My personal opinion of MY success has already been reached. But, I’m not rich. I’m not the top official in the armed services. I don’t know yet if I’ve been the best father or husband. I failed at my goals of being a professional football player (due to height lol don’t get me wrong.). AND I’m in a very small amount of debt.

So how could I be successful?

Easy! Growing up, I had everything my mother could give me. I didn’t have a need in the world, I didn’t have a care either but there was nothing to want. It wasn’t because I was spoiled but because I just didn’t care enough to want much in life. When I was in kindergarten (It’s funny how we don’t pronounce that word the way it is spelled lol), when the teachers would ask all of us “What do you want to be when you grow up?” I gave the simplest answer that I felt in my heart. Oddly enough, it was that same simple answer that stayed with me throughout my whole life. I’ll get to what it was in a minute.

About the time I was 18 I felt that I’ve already lived life for all that it’s worth because of my endeavors. I’ve seen and done everything I thought man could do, in some sort or fashion. But yet there was a huge void in me that I didn’t realize. It wasn’t until later on in life that I got the most awakening call, that shaped who I was and who I became. It was the call of God to my life, the call to be a holy son to the most high. Am I a pastor? No. I’m just a Christian, a real one. And through the light shined down on me by my Father and the Son, Jesus I seen that my void was being filled. I seen I had more than I realized. I’ve done countless things, met countless people, helped so many in small ways…A poet, a motivational speaker, a non-profit organization starter. But yet, I was seeing that I wasn’t helping myself. Fast forward…

Through some crazy events in life I came across the most wonderful woman I have encountered. I came across someone who would ultimately shake up my life and make a lot of people mad. I came across the woman whom I married, my partner in everything. Not my style of woman but best suited for me. Through just living I was blessed to have 3 amazing kids. Are you kidding me? Me? Three kids? Yeah, that’s me. But do you want to know the best part?

I have God, a wife, 3 kids…ever since kindergarten I always wanted to be a husband, father and a great son to my mother (No my father wasn’t around).

I was a legend in Miami in more ways than one. I had it all but I didn’t have what I wanted…until now.

So in a nutshell, have your money, have your attractions, have your titles. I’ve got the only titles and wealth in my Father kingdom that I need and want. I don’t need anymore than that because no matter what happens in life, as long as I’ve got those very three things that I’ve wanted since I was 5 or 6, I’m successful.

…I just wish more people seen the small things in themselves.

Success Has Been Reached!   ~T. Treal